Length: 0

Civil Service Commission

HR-CSC Banner 2020

The Civil Service Commission of the City of Chillicothe is a quasi-judicial agency made up of three members appointed by the Mayor (under Ohio Revised Code 124.40) and the members serve a 6-year term.  The primary mission of the Commission is to prescribe, amend and enforce rules in chapter 124 of the Ohio Revised Code.

The Civil Service Commission strives to provide the citizens of Chillicothe with the most qualified applicants for and promotion to, firefighter, police officer and other classified labor positions, irrespective of the applicant’s race, color, gender, age, national origin, or religious or political affiliations through competitive testing and certification of eligibility lists for classified positions. 

The Commission has statutory jurisdiction over employment-related matters pertaining to exempt employees in the classified civil service, to non-exempt employees in the classified service who have not been organized, and to non-exempt employees whose collective bargaining agreement allows an appeal to the Board.

Public Civil Service meetings are held monthly in the City Administration Building, 35 South Paint St. 
Request for meeting agenda items may be submitted to the Civil Service Commission Secretary. 

Civil Service Commissioners:     

James Cutright, Esq. Chairperson
Term expires December 31, 2024

Angela Hirsch, Esq. Commissioner 
Term expires December 31, 2025 

Kim Cole-Bailey, Commissioner 

Term expires December 31, 2027 

Civil Service Secretary:  
Kevin Andrus
Phone: 740-773-1211  

35 S. Paint St. Chillicothe, OH 45601


Notification Center